Traditional Gummy Bears Vs. Vegan Gummy Bears: A Detailed Comparison

Find the Difference Between traditional and vegan gummy bears
Spread the love

Gummy bears are one of the most famous candies made from gelatine. Their sweet taste and soft texture have made them a favorite choice of children and adults alike. But, there has always been a tough competition between traditional gummy bears and their vegan counterparts. Indeed, the traditional gummy bears vs. vegan gummy bears tend to unfold distinctive choices made by people. It is because traditional ones are made of gelatine, produced from animal skin. On the other hand, vegan or organic gummy bears are manufactured with starch or pectin and are gelatine-free

These delicious vegan candies are chewy and act as perfect snacks for everyone. The normal gummy bear vs. vegan highlights that traditional one is an animal by-product and vegan ones do not contain any form of animal product. Now, it is easy for a vegetarian to savor the candies at any time of the day as they are organic. Though, gummy bears contain 46grams of sugar per 100gram quantity; still, there are sugar-free candies that have become a household need for kids. It is a favorite snack among adults alike, who are calorie-conscious. 

Ingredients in Traditional Gummy Bears

Traditional Gummy Bears


Everyone knows that traditional gummy bears are made from animal products, making them unacceptable to vegetarians and vegans. 

Ingredients: Glucose syrup, sugar, starch, food coloring, gelatin, flavoring, and citric acid.

A specialized machine named Starch Moghul is used for making candies. These are mixed well, and the hot mixture is poured into the gummy molds. Further to this, the gelatin gummy bears are made to cool and taken out from the mold. After this, they are packed and sent to the market.

Vegan / Plant-based Gummy Bears

Wholesome Organic gummy bears

Vegan gummy bears are the best alternative to traditional ones because they are gluten-free, plant-based, and healthy

Ingredients: Apple juice, white sugar, agar powder, pectin, and agave syrup.

These ingredients are used to produce transparent gummy bears. On the other hand, the colored ones contain spinach for green, orange peel for orange, and blueberries for purple. As the ingredients of cruelty-free vegan gummy bears are healthy and not extracted from animals, they are a favorite choice as snacks.

Nutritional Information

There have been discussions on the fact that gummy candy is unhealthy. One thing to note is that it may get stuck in the teeth. But, this does not mean that they do not have nutrition value. Considering traditional gummy bears, consist of Calcium and Vitamin D that directs healthy bone generation. Vitamin D is known to regulate nutrition like Phosphate and Calcium in the body. Indeed, a portion of 42grams of gummy bears has 22 grams of sugar, 20 grams of sodium, 150 calories, 34 grams of carbohydrates, and 3 grams of protein. 

On the contrary, a portion of 42 grams vegan gummy bears gelatin-free consists of 150 calories, 20 mg sodium, 22 grams of sugar, 34 grams of total carbohydrates, 6 grams of protein, and no vitamins or calcium. These non-gelatin gummy bears are a good choice for people averting animal products. They do not contain vitamins and calcium of any sort as compared to the traditional ones. It clearly states that traditional gummy candy has an upper edge as a healthy snack for people. These days, homemade gummy bears without gelatin are getting extremely popular in the United States and many other places in the world.

How Do They Taste?

The gummy bears are soft to chew as per their texture is concerned. In fact, the use of gelatin makes them chewy. Gelatin is a protein derived from animal tissue. Apart from this, many gummies are sour; while, some have a fruity and alcoholic taste. The fruity flavor is evident in gummy bears because of the fruit contents used in them at the time of manufacturing. The varied flavors of gummy candies available in the market allow people to pick them as per their preferences. 


The best part of consuming gummy bears is that they tend to control your appetite, and you do not yearn to eat anything unhealthy. Right from its inception in 1920 to now, these candies have been ruling the market. You will find various options that include traditional ones, beef gelatine gummy bears, and vegan alternatives. Moreover, an array of fruity candies available in the market enables people or kids to pick their choice.



+ posts

I am building a lifestyle that nourishes my soul and satisfies my passions, which include traveling, indulging in sweet treats, and being physically fit. I am also a lover of dogs (cynophile) and cats (ailurophile). Additionally, I am striving to live a vegan lifestyle.

Spread the love

1 thought on “Traditional Gummy Bears Vs. Vegan Gummy Bears: A Detailed Comparison”

  1. Pingback: Agar Vs. Gelatin : A Detailed Comparison (August 2021) | RealGoodGummies

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *