Are Gummy Bears Vegan? Let’s Find Out Right Away

Know if gummy bears are vegan or not?
Spread the love

Gummy bears are a delicious treat that first appeared in the early 1980s and became popular among children and adults alike. However, the history of the sweet goes back far further than that. In the early 1920s, German entrepreneur Hans Riegel founded the confectionery brand Haribo, and it was around this time that gummy candies were first introduced to the world. In the modern era, Haribo is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of sticky sweets.

What Makes Most Gummy Bears Non-Vegan?

Gelatin is used in the production of the majority of gummy bears. The fact that gelatin is made from collagen obtained from the various animals’ skin means that it is not a vegan component of the product. It is common for gelatin manufacturers to source their raw materials from the beef and animal sectors. Gelatin is a non-nutritive ingredient whose primary function is to impart a gel-like texture to foods. As a bonus, gelatin is virtually always found in other varieties of gummy sweets, such as chewy worms and chewy fruit rings, in marshmallows, and probably different sorts of confections, in addition to gummy bears. Choose from our list of best gummy bear brands (Vegan + Non-Vegan)

Beeswax is a type of wax that is produced by bees in their honeycomb. Several foods use this ingredient to help them set or hold their shape, including marshmallows, jello, and, unfortunately, gummy bears. For its preparation, beehives are boiled with water until only these white blocks remain. Beeswax is also referred to as E901 in some circles.

Can Vegetarians Eat Gummy Bears?

To give you the long and short answer, no, vegetarians should not eat gummy bears as they are not vegan and they are not even vegetarian. To make gummy bears, gelatin is used, which is derived from animal bones. Boiling animal bones is the most common method of preparing them. However, skins, tendons, and ligaments can be used and cooked as well.

The Vegan Checklist before buying Gummy Bears

The gelatin-free gummies are made out of the ingredients given below:- 

  • Fruit Juice such as apple, guava, orange, etc. 
  • Agar-Agar Powder 
  • Sweeteners such  as granulated sugar, maple syrup, agave
  • Sugar in case you do not use sweetener

Here we have curated a list of the best vegan gummy bears keeping this list in mind just for our vegan buddies.

The Most common Ingredients in Non-Vegan Gummy bears

  • Gelatin 
  • Sugar 
  • Fruit juice 
  • carnauba wax

The Famous Gummy Bear Brands Ingredient List

Albanese gummy bears

close   Not Vegan

Haribo gummy bears

close   Not Vegan


  • Corn Syrup (from Corn) 
  • Sugar (from Beets)
  • Gelatin
  •  Citric Acid 
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  •  Pectin (Derived from Fruit)
  •  FD


  • Glucose syrup
  • sugar 
  • gelatin
  •  dextrose
  • fruit juice from fruit juice concentrate apple, strawberry, raspberry, orange, lemon, pineapple; acidifier: citric acid; fruit and plant concentrates: safflower, spirulina, apple, elderberry, orange, black currant, kiwi, lemon, chokeberry, mango, passion fruit, grape


  • Prebiotic soluble fibre from tapioca
  •  chicory root fiber
  •  gelatin
  • lactic acid
  • citric acid
  •  rice flour
  • malic acid
  •  fumaric acid
  • fruit and vegetable juice (for color), natural fruit flavor
  • coconut oil
  • stevia leaf extract
  • carnauba wax.

We did a survey and found that smart sweets are making vegan gummies which we have mentioned in our exhaustive list of plant-based gummies. 

Healthy Vegan Gummy Bear Recipe (100% Plant Based)

We know how difficult it is to find vegan gummy bears online. But worry no more, we made a recipe for vegan gummy bears so that you can enjoy them anytime.  They are the best choice for any vegan out there. 




+ posts

I am building a lifestyle that nourishes my soul and satisfies my passions, which include traveling, indulging in sweet treats, and being physically fit. I am also a lover of dogs (cynophile) and cats (ailurophile). Additionally, I am striving to live a vegan lifestyle.

Spread the love

2 thoughts on “Are Gummy Bears Vegan? Let’s Find Out Right Away”

  1. Pingback: Are Gummy Bears Vegan? What makes Gummies Vegan - Sunshine Slate

  2. Pingback: Top 6 Best Vegan Marshmallows In 2022 (HandPicked) - Realgoodgummies

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *