Are Haribo Gummy Bears Vegan? Read This To Find Out!

lets find out if haribo gummy bears are vegan-friendly or not?
Spread the love

The Haribo Gummy bears are the most famous gummy candies that got introduced to the world in 1920. Since then, it has been soft and safe to consume. There has always been a question in the mind of people that are these gummy bears vegan? Taking note of these gummy bears, all Haribo ones are not suitable for vegans to consume. The reason is that it has gelatin used as a part of the manufacturing process. Indeed, gelatin is a source of protein taken from animals. It gives a clear answer that many of them are not vegan.

But, this does not mean that vegans cannot savor on chewy and fruity gummy bears from Haribo. Indeed, they have vegan alternatives like Rainbow Spaghetti, Sour Rainbow Twists, Soft Jelly Bear, and Rainbow Strips Zing. These plant-based candies are manufactured cruelty-free and do not carry any kind of animal by-product. The packaging of the Haribo gummy bears is done in high-quality plastic.  Moreover, the package has requisite information printed for a better understanding of the customers. 

Ingredients in Haribo Gummy Bears

bowlIt is well-known that Haribo gummy bears include gelatin as one of the main ingredients. Besides this, it contains sugar, ‎glucose syrup, dextrose, malic acid, fruit and plant concentrates, citric acid, lactic acid, sodium citrate, carob extract, and palm oil. These ingredients give a soft and jelly texture to the gummy candies. Adding to the flavor of such candies, fruit juice concentrate of pineapple, apple, raspberry, strawberry, orange, lemon is used. Indeed, these concentrates give color and requisite fruity taste to the candies. 

As said, exceptions are always there; you will find very few Haribo gummy bears manufactured for vegans. Such Haribo gummy bear ingredients contain fruit and vegetable extracts from oranges, lemons, apples, strawberries, spirulina, radishes, black carrots, and safflower. Also, sugar, agar-agar, and glucose syrup are the essential component used in making vegan gummy bears Haribo. With a Haribo vegan option available for the people, it can be enjoyed as an ideal evening snack.

51P pDGMnGL

close   Not Vegan

Vegan vs. Non-Vegan Gummy Comparison

vegan

Indeed, vegan products are the ones made from fruit or vegetable contents. It does not contain any animal by-products like milk, cheese, butter, beeswax, and likewise. These candies are created keeping the vegan community in mind, who promotes a cruelty-free world for the animals.  In the vegan alternatives of Haribo gummy bears, you will find vegetable and fruit components that do not ill-treat the animals.

On the other hand, the non-vegan gummy bears get manufactured with animal content in it. It includes gelatin as the main ingredient. Now, this might trigger a question as to what type of gelatin is in Haribo gummy bears. Gelatin is a type of protein extracted from animal skin. In fact, you will find most of the Haribo gummy bears in the market are made from gelatin. Not just vegans or non-vegetarians, the vegetarian clan can enjoy gummy candies manufactured with pectin or starch. Also, fruit extracts are used to give a fruity taste to candies. But, Haribo gold bear candies can be enjoyed by people, who do not refrain from non-vegetarian content.

List of Alternatives to Haribo Gummy Bears (100% vegan)

Some of the vegan alternatives for Haribo gummy bears are listed hereunder. These are plant-based and do not have any animal content. 

  • Surf Sweet Organic Fruity Bear
  • Sour Patch Kids Gummy Candy
  • Annie’s Bunny Organic Fruit Snacks
  • Kanibi Organi Gummies
  • Yum Earth Gummy Bears
  • The Organic Candy Factory
  • Tommy’s Bears Gummy Candy
  • Swish Vegan Gummy Bears

We have picked the top vegan gummy bears and did a detailed analysis just to help you make the right choice. With various gummy bears available in the market, you can take your pick as per eating habits. Of course, these are safe to consume and do not have side effects at all.

Conclusion

Being a favorite candy of adults and children alike, Haribo gummy bears have set a standard in the industry. Their use of specialized ingredients has added to the incomparable taste. In fact, the company has created numerous gummy candies for vegans, vegetarians, and the non-vegetarian community’s consumption. So, you can buy as per the need and enjoy them.

References

I love reading and writing. A big-time foodie and a true gummy fanatic.
Dog mom with a goal to stay fit and healthy. Lately following the vegan lifestyle.
d66d320337a39cb5a4ca870f69ca8ab5?s=250&d=mm&r=g
close

DEALWEEK

SUBSCRIBE AND GET WEEKLY ALERTS ON YOUR FAVORITE GUMMIES! - DON’T MISS OUT!


Spread the love

0 thoughts on “Are Haribo Gummy Bears Vegan? Read This To Find Out!”

  1. Pingback: Best Gummy Bear Brands In The World (Updated October 2021) | RealGoodGummies

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.