Pectin vs. Gelatin: The Ultimate Guide to Choosing The Right Gummies In 2021

Pectin vs Gelatin: The guide to choose the right gummies for you
Spread the love

Gummies are candies that come in various shapes, sizes, flavors, and concentrations. The assortment of forms in which gummies stand available are alligators, bears, bunnies, candy corns, flowers, worms, etc. Gummies are also fondly known as sweet candies or jelly sweets.

The distinct chewiness of gummies is due to the two most famous thickening agents: Pectin and Gelatin. Both these components add elasticity to gummies. Each thickening agent has different properties, features, benefits, and side effects. While using these elements alternatively, the varying properties need keen consideration.

Is Pectin Vegan?​

Although Pectin is similar to Gelatin in many ways, it still differs in terms of its sources. Pectin is extracted from the pulps and skins of various fruits, flowers, and vegetables and withdrawn from the cell walls of the plants. 

The most famous fruits from which Pectin can be extracted are apples, oranges, apricots, bananas, blackberries, cherries, carrots, grapes, sweet potato, lemon, and other citrus fruits.

Since Pectin is obtained from fruits and other natural sources, it is, in fact, Vegan. With various gummies available in Pectin, it is soon becoming a popular choice for vegans and vegetarians. They now have plenty of jams and gummies to choose from to satiate their nutritional requirements and their taste buds.

Pectin can also be prepared at home using apple juice and citrus fruit extracts. 

We have curated a list of the best vegan gummies online.

How to identify the difference?

While both Pectin and Gelatin seem to have similar objectives, they have unique properties. The difference in their properties is their distinguishing factor that can determine which one is Gelatin and Pectin.

Structure

Both differ in the structure they bestow upon the resulting gummies. Gelatin gives more of a chewy, jelly-like texture to the gummies, whereas, Pectin gummies are smooth and moist.

Origin

The components also differ in their origins. Pectin originated from fruits, whereas Gelatin is a meat product sourced from animal bones and ligaments.

Temperature

Another property that differentiates pectin from gelatin is the temperature required by each to settle. Pectin settles at a high temperature which means pectin can stay stable at room temperature. Whereas gelatin requires a relatively lower temperature to set, which means it needs to be refrigerated to sit.

Flavor

Pectin is bitter, so it requires sugar or any other sweetening agent to cut down the bitterness. When used in a recipe, the quantity of sugar taken is directly proportional to pectin. On the other hand, gelatin is flavorless, so it does not require sugar additives to make it palatable, making it more versatile.

Pectin Gummies

  1. Fruit Candies
  2. Jelly 
  3. Surf Sweets

Gelatin Gummies

  1. Gummy Worms
  2. Gummy bears 
  3. CBD based gummies

A Quick Comparison Pectin Vs. Gelatin

Pectin Vs. gelatin gummies which one should be used to make gummies

Benefits of Pectin

  1. Pectin is rich in fiber. As per studies, high fiber intake is proven to promote weight loss. Hence Pectin can also prove helpful for people who are trying to cut some fat. It prevents obesity by giving the feeling of fullness and reduces hunger pangs.
  2. Pectin’s fiber richness makes it a good cure for diarrhea and constipation, as fiber has water-absorbing properties.
  3. As mentioned earlier, Pectin requires a high temperature to set. Hence it can stay stable, even at room temperature, for a more extended period.
  4. The fiber in Pectin may also help reduce cancer risk, but it is yet to be proven.

Benefits of Gelatin

  1. Gelatin is procured from collagen, which is extracted from the bones and ligaments of animals; hence it is very high in protein.
  2. It is also full of necessary amino acids, which are the building blocks of protein.
  3. The protein present in Gelatin also helps to keep human skin hydrated and healthy. As the human skin ages due to a drop of collagen in the body, the collagen-rich gelatin helps keep that balance retained.
  4. Gelatin is a bag full of other dietary nutrients as well. Apart from proteins and amino acids, it also contains calcium, magnesium, sodium, folate, and selenium.
  5. The calcium present in gelatin helps strengthen the bones, reducing the risk of osteoporosis.

Where can you buy Pectin?

Pectin is available on various online shopping platforms. It is also available in multiple categories like Low Sugar Pectin, Regular Pectin, No-Sugar Pectin, Liquid Regular Pectin, etc. While there are many available options online, one can easily prepare Pectin at home. Follow the recipe to learn how.

           Ingredients:

  1. 7, Green apples (sliced and washed)
  2. 2 tbsp. Lemon juice
  3. 4 cups of Water

          Directions:

  1. Put the sliced green apples, without peeling, in a pot.
  2. Add water and lemon juice to it.
  3. Boil the mixture until it reduces to half.
  4. Pour the cooked mixture over a cheesecloth and strain it through.
  5. Boil the strained mixture again for approximately 20 minutes.
  6. Pour this mixture into a clean jar and seal it.
  7. Refrigerate

Conclusion

While Pectin and Gelatin are used as thickening agents for gummies, they substantially differ in their properties. Pectin is high in fiber, and gelatin is high in protein. For vegetarians or vegans, Pectin gummies are a delightful treat as they are prepared from natural resources.

Both Pectin and Gelatin have several health benefits, which work great for all candy lovers. Either way, it is essential to make an informed choice before choosing one over the other.

FAQ

Although pectin is very similar to gelatin the desired texture can’t be obtained by just pectin, as gelatin is obtained from collagen and pectin from plants. Moreover, Pectin is bitter in taste naturally so we add sugar to minimize the bitterness. So you can’t completely use pectin as a substitute for gelatin to make gummies

Both pectin and gelatin are known for their distinctive nature. Although the desired elasticity can be obtain using gelatin as gelatin is made from collagen.

Pectin is made from the pulps and skins of various fruits and vegetables and gelatin is made from animal collagen which is extracted from bones and ligaments. So Pectin can’t be like collagen as both are extracted from different methods.

References

Building a lifestyle to satisfy my soul. Love to travel and have a major sweet tooth. Fitness enthusiast, Cynophile, and ailurophile. Trying to live a vegan life.
43d1c2a0fa64d2b0bb33c0adf5934a2f?s=250&d=mm&r=g
close

DEALWEEK

SUBSCRIBE AND GET WEEKLY ALERTS ON YOUR FAVORITE GUMMIES! - DON’T MISS OUT!


Spread the love

2 thoughts on “Pectin vs. Gelatin: The Ultimate Guide to Choosing The Right Gummies In 2021”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.