Are Marshmallows Vegan? Try our Easy Vegan Recipe Now

Marshmallows Vegan or not?
Spread the love

Marshmallows go great with just about anything, including hot chocolate, s’mores, desserts, and baking. Still, if you’re aiming to eat more plants, you might be wondering if those fluffy delights are suitable for your diet if you’re vegan or vegetarian. In case, check out our best vegan marshmallows list to enjoy them guilt-free.

Most marshmallows are made without any dairy products. When it comes to sweets, you may believe you’re doing just fine by crushing up a few marshmallows into a cup of vegan hot chocolate. I mean, come on, who doesn’t want to drink hot chocolate while nibbling on melted marshmallows? That’s not the case with me!

Ingredients of Vegan Marshmallow

  • Powdered sugar and cornstarch are combined to sweeten the marshmallows while ensuring that they don’t stick to our pan.
  • A can of chickpea juice is known as aquafaba. Boiling your own dried chickpeas will yield this, but the results will be inconsistent. For this recipe, we’re using this as our egg whites.
  • Stabilizes aquafaba so that firm peaks can be achieved when beating with cream of tartar.
  • Agar-agar is used in place of gelatin in the vegan marshmallows to provide gelatin’s thicker bounce.
  • Because marshmallows are sweet, you’ll also need vegan cane sugar and corn syrup. You will need to combine two types of sugar to achieve a better texture and a more balanced flavor.
  • Just a little salt is required when using salt to enhance flavor.
  • Vanilla is the extract of choice for most marshmallows because of its neutral flavor.


  • Substitute arrowroot powder, tapioca starch, or potato starch for cornstarch if necessary.
  • The corn syrup in the recipe can be swapped out for vegan cane sugar, and the reverse is also true. It is possible to use date syrup, maple syrup, or agave nectar in place of corn syrup.

Are Marshmallows Vegetarian?

Sadly, marshmallows are not vegan. A protein found in animals, gelatin is used to make them. Typically, this protein is derived from pigs.

Because of this, marshmallows are not acceptable for vegans or vegetarians.

Gelatin is typically stated among the ingredients on the back of the packet. Pork gelatin is mentioned from time to time as well.

Vegetarians and vegans should be warned about this product on the label.

It is not uncommon for marshmallow fluff to contain egg whites, but this is more typical in the jars.

Before purchasing your marshmallows, check the ingredients list to ensure that egg whites are not included.

Vegan Vs. Vegetarian Marshmallows

Vegan marshmallows correspond to veganism’s strict dietary guidelines, such as those without any animal products. This way of living is comparable to vegetarianism, but it forbids the consumption of meat and other animal products.

The marshmallows, which contain dairy products, are known as vegetarian marshmallows. There are both types of marshmallows available easily. You can find them online or at a nearby departmental store.

Final Words

So, the marshmallows can be both vegan and non-vegan. I hope this post helped you to get a better view and understand everything.


Which Brands of Marshmallows are Vegan?

Here is a list of a few brands that sell vegan marshmallows

  • Yummallo Vegan Marshmallows. 
  • Dandies
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Funky Mello
  • Ananda Foods 
  • Suzanne’s Specialties
  • Freedom Confectionery

Why can't Vegans eat Marshmallows?

Gelatin is an animal protein generated from the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals such as cows and pigs. Marshmallows do not comply with the vegan diet since they include gelatin.

Are Haribo marshmallows vegetarian?

Because they include gelatine, derived from pigs’ skin, bones, tendons, and ligaments, Haribo Chamallows are unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans. Carmine is a type of crimson food pigment made by grinding up insects, and these Haribo marshmallow sweets contain carmine as well.



Website | + posts

I love reading and writing. A big-time foodie and a true gummy fanatic.
Dog mom with a goal to stay fit and healthy. Lately following the vegan lifestyle.

Spread the love

1 thought on “Are Marshmallows Vegan? Try our Easy Vegan Recipe Now”

  1. Pingback: Are Marshmallow Dairy-free? Read This Before You Eat One | Realgoodgummies

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *